First wood/resin job

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Joshua Thompson

Ok so I am going to post a WHOLE BUNCH of questions. This is my first time doing a project like this.

So first of all, my goal is a gift for the gf. 12″x10″ (approximately) about 1 inch thick piece of wall decor. I wanted to have the live edges in the middle separated by about 4 1/4 inches of clear resin. In the resin would be an artificial sunflower I have, and at the bottom a small block with an inscription on it. Also wanted a maroon background to the resin (See question 3)

*Here come the stupid questions*

1 bark or no bark? I like the look of bark, but I’m not sure if it can be left on and if so how to clean it up enough that the resin sticks.

2 I want the sunflower suspended in the resin, the resin will be about 1″-1 1/4″ thick (The thickness of the wood the sunflower will be thinner) is this realistic? if so, how is the best way to do it?

3 I wanted a maroon back ground to the resin, I wasn’t sure if pouring a thin layer of maroon resin as the back-most layer would be a good idea, or just painting the background maroon later on. Opinions for the best look?

4 I’ve seen these projects poured both ways, right side up and upside down. What is the best way to pour it?

5 What should I use to build my box around the wood for pouring the resin?

6 What kind of finish for the wood? Or for the whole piece? I’m not very well versed in stains/seals

7 I don’t even know what else I need to ask yet, I have the wood, the flower, the resin, sandpaper for a 5″ orbital from 60-2000 grit, and a dream. Any problems you guys see, or things I need to know, or all the stuff I haven’t thought about yet.

Thanks in advance guys, -Josh

Katherine Swift
      Keymaster

Hi Josh,

I’m going to answer your questions referring to the numbers above:

1. I would minimize the amount of bark. It is likely to trap bubbles that you will have a hard time getting out.