How to set a small dense object in a small mold to make a jewelry pendant?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author
      Sebastian

Hi Resin Community,

I’m a resin beginner looking for help feeling stuck and overwhelmed with a project I’m planning. A few years ago I inherited these antique multi-use steel hypodermic needle tips that my doctor grandpa (R.I.P.) left behind in his medical bag. I wanted to learn resin art so that I could make jewelry pendants out of these by setting them in clear resin (most likely with a little dye added) and somehow attaching a cord/chain to them. At first I thought the basics of this project would be straightforward. All I’m trying to do is set a small object in a mold that more or less frames it—rectangle, oval, triangle, etc., I’m not picky about mold shape. Ideally the mold would have a pre-formed hole for attaching a cord or ring (which seems like a common enough feature of resin molds). So I bought the clear epoxy casting resin starter kit from Resin Obsession, since it seemed to have almost everything I needed to start making some practice pieces so I can eventually work up to the real thing.

However, almost immediately I started feeling overwhelmed and discouraged. Even just finding a suitable mold has been an uphill battle. Trawling through Amazon, Etsy, and beyond, nearly all the molds I was finding were either too shallow or the wrong size or shape for my project, and the ones that were close didn’t have jewelry holes. I’ve considered buying a mold making kit, but that would require somehow finding or making an object that’s the exact size and shape of the finished piece I’m looking for. And as a beginner, that feels like adding on a whole other sub-project with more moving parts and more opportunities for things to go wrong, and where there’s no guarantee that it will even help make the rest of this project easier unless I manage to really nail it.